- Until the '60s, Triantaros was one of the villages of Tinos with over 300 residents. There are
indications that the village existed since the medieval period (about 1000 AD).
- The unique view of Tinos to the surrounding islands, and respect for the traditional
architectural features are the two main characteristics of the village.
- Starting from Triantaros, two streams flow into Gyrla and Agia Paraskevi, creating green
valleys. In the wider region the windmills and watermills were gradually abandoned or
converted into homes.
- Vrisi (upper village) and Xynari (lower village) are the two traditional wells in Triantaros
while the springs under the poplar trees are a point of reference among locals.
- In the square of Xynari, a well-preserved part of the old traditional olive press attracts the
attention. The Hero’s monument, the work of John Philipotis, a great sculptor, is also
- The parish church of Triantaros, the Church of Apostles, built in 1861, is one of the greatest on
the island and boasts for its marble and carved interior decoration.
- The church of Gria Panagia (the name indicates the familiarity of the people with the divine
element, since "gria" they called their mother), had two temples: one for the orthodox and one
for the Catholics who attended services under the same roof.
- The form of an animal-like rock, the"Vayo", as it was known, was a place that children
used to avoid since it had been connected with scary tales and legends. The last Sunday
- before Easter, the children of Triantaros rivaled those of Dyo Horia over who will succeed to
conquer and subdue the magical rock.
- Located 7 km away from Tinos (Chora).
- Follow the old road network (starting from Zannaki Alavanou Av.) and at the first junction
turn right toward Triantaros.